SAFAD was founded in 1969 after a project to Iran in 1968. Two postgraduates and two undergraduates of the Silsoe college arranged their own sponsorship from companies and organisations and travelled to Iran for five weeks. They stayed at the Karaj Agricultural Training Centre in Iran where they investigated the efficiency of agricultural irrigation systems and demonstrated machinery and soil conservation techniques to students.

The first of many projects in Africa took place in Kenya in 1972, and the first South American project was in Honduras in 1984.


Our projects at a glance:

Year      Project Destination
1969     Iran
1972     Kenya
1973     Kenya
1975     Malawi
1976     Tanzania
1978     Nigeria
1980     Sri Lanka
1982     Malaysia
1983     Pakistan, Sudan
1984     Honduras, Nigeria, Uganda
1985     Honduras, Mexico, Tanzania, Thailand
1986     Honduras, Kenya, St Lucia, Thailand
1987     Burkina Faso, Bolivia, Kenya
1988     Guatemala, India, Kenya
1989     Cameroon, Guatemala, India, Swaziland
1990     Cameroon, Guatemala, Swaziland, Thailand
1991     Cameroon, Guatemala, Swaziland, Thailand
1992     Belize, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Guatemala, Philippines, Uganda, Zambia
1993     Burkina Faso, Cameroon
1994     Cameroon, Guatemala, India, Nicaragua, Thailand
1995     Cameroon, Guatemala, Uganda
1996     Cameroon, Guatemala, Peru, Uganda
1997     Cameroon, Guatemala, Peru, Uganda
1998     Cameroon, Guatemala, Peru, Uganda
1999     Cameroon, Guatemala, Peru, Uganda
2000     Cameroon, Peru
2001     Cameroon, Guatemala, Malawi, Peru
2002     Cameroon, Guatemala, Malawi, Peru
2003     Ethiopia, Tibet
2004     Ethiopia, India, Tibet
2005     Bolivia, Cameroon, Guatemala, India, Kenya, Malawi, Peru, Tibet, Zimbabwe
2006     Bolivia, Cameroon, Guatemala, Kenya, Malawi, Peru, Zimbabwe
2007     Bolivia, Cambodia, Chad, Ethiopia, Guatemala, Indonesia, Madagascar, Mexico, Thailand, Uganda
2008     Bolivia, Cambodia, Kenya, Myanmar, Zimbabwe
2009     Ethiopia, Guatemala, India, Kenya, Lebanon
2010     Cambodia, China, Comoros, Ethiopia, Guatemala, Haiti, India, Kenya, Thailand, Zambia, Zimbabwe

2011     Comoros, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya
2012     Ethiopia, Honduras, Kenya, Uganda
2013     Laos, Philippines
2014     Guatemala, Honduras, India, Malawi, Uganda
2015     Cameroon, Honduras, India, Laos, Malawi, Uganda
2016     Laos, Uganda, Zimbabwe
2017     Haiti, Laos, Uganda